top of page

Awards & Recognitions

The Village Initiative has been recognized at local and state levels for its work with community organizations:
  • 2024 James City County Board of Supervisors Chairman’s Award recognized Jacqueline Williams and The Village Initiative for contributions to James City County and the community

  • 2023 Certificate of Appreciation from the Framily Bash Committee, recognizing The Village Initiative's work in the community

  • 2023 Table Builders Award for Coming to the Table, recognizing the impact of The Local Black Histories Project

  • 2021 Mentorship Award, from Williamsburg Action, recognizing mentorship of new community organizations

  • 2020 Commendation from the Virginia State Assembly Award, recognizing The Village's contribution to educational equity 

Member recognitions
  • 2024 - Phoebe Linnell, Research Fellow with the Village Initiative’s Local Black Histories Project, received an internship with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture. 

  • 2024 - Alton Coston, Community Fellow with the Village Initiative, was selected as a Schwarzman Scholar. The scholarship provides one year of funding for graduate study in global affairs at Schwarzman College on the campus of Tsinghua University in Beijing.

  • 2023 Male Teacher of the Year, won by Philip Canady, Richmond Public Schools

  • 2022 Teacher of the Year, won by Philip Canady, Fairfield Courty Elementary School, Richmond Public School

Screen Shot 2024-02-16 at 12.21.09 AM.png
Member recognitions
Screen Shot 2024-02-22 at 11.56.16 AM.png
  • 2019 Volunteer of the Year Award, received by Jennifer Bickham Mendez for her work at James Blair Middle School

  • 2022 Community Service Award, received by Jacqueline Bridgeforth Williams from the first Historic Baptist Church

  • 2022 Truman Fellowship, received by Alton Coston III, recognizing his work with The Village and his academic achievements

  • 2022 Jacqueline Bridgeforth Williams, invited to publish a chapter on her work with The Village in the book, Sister Leaders

  • 2022 William & Mary John Lewis Social Justice Award, received by Alton Coston III for his work with The Village and on campus

  • 2022 Plumeri Award for Faculty Excellence, received by Amy Quark for her research collaborations with The Village

  • 2021 William & Mary Award, received by Kibiriti Majuto, recognizing his community service in The Village and other recognitions

  • 2021 American Association of University Women Fellowship, received by Leah Kuragano, recognizing her scholarship and contribution to The Village 

bottom of page